Readers and their Rides

Vicky Jones and Her ‘01 Big Dog Mastiff

Written by  May 31, 2006

I met Vicky in March when she decided to join the Khrome Cowgirls. She is a great person and rides one sweet-looking bike. Although she is married and enjoys riding with her hubby, she decided to join the Cowgirls, which has given her women to ride with as well. The Cowgirls are very excited to have her as a member and will share our love of riding, our love of the motorcycle world as well as getting to know her as a person.

CC: Vicky, what is your occupation?
Vicky: I’m an application specialist.

CC: Why do you ride?
Vicky:It started out as a way to spend time with my husband who puts in a lot of hours. Whenever he had free time we would go for rides. I love to ride because it gives me a feeling of empowerment and a sense of independence I don’t get from anything else.

CC: How long have you been riding?
Vicky: I have been riding for 3 years after a 25 year hiatus.

CC: What was your first bike?
Vicky: It was a Harley-Davidson 125cc.

CC: How many bikes have you owned?
Vicky: I’ve owned three bikes.

CC: How many bikes do you currently own, and what are they?
Vicky: Just one .

CC: What do you like most about your 2001 Big Dog Mastiff?
Vicky: The design, because it looks like a piece of art.

CC: What is your dream bike?
Vicky:It would have to be a Big Dog K-9 Softtail .

CC: What is your most memorable riding experience?
Vicky:I think my most memorable are yet to come. I did not know a lot of people who rode, therefore I joined the Khrome Cowgirls where I have met a great group of women who have the same passion for riding as I do.

CC: What is your least memorable riding experience?
Vicky: Anytime I’m riding against the wind on very windy day because it takes the fun out of the ride..

CC: To what motorcycle clubs or organizations do you belong?
Vicky: I belong to the Women in the Wind – Khrome Cowgirls – Kansas City Chapter.

CC: Which motorcycle rallies & events have you attended and which is your favorite?
Vicky:As of yet I have never attended any, so this will be my first year. I’m looking forward to riding and volunteering for some of the charity rides that will benefit the people and communities in our area.

CC: Do you have a favorite bike night hangout, and if so, why do you like it most?
Vicky: I don’t have a favorite yet because I have not been to enough to choose a favorite.

CC: Do you have any tattoos?
Vicky: I do not have any tattoos, and although I’ve considered getting one many times, I’ve never committed. If I did, it would certainly be the cartoon characters Calvin and Hobbes. You can live vicariously through these characters, it’s the whole “I want to be good, but it’s more fun to be bad” appeal.

CC: Who is your favorite tattoo artist?
Vicky: I do not have a favorite, however, I enjoy the art of tattooing and have gotten many laughs from some very creative designs. I have my favorites.

CC: Do you prefer riding in a group or by yourself?
Vicky: I prefer riding in a group, because riding with a group of friends is much more fascinating. I suppose it’s a type of bonding.

CC: Who are some of your closest riding buddies?
Vicky: My husband Max and my new friend Lorrie, who I met through the Khrome Cowgirls .

Interview by Toto (WebMistress for the Khrome Cowgirls of KC)